Going Home

As part of my work, I travel at least once per month. I have the great fortune to spend time with friends and family during those trips, which lessens the impact of being away from home.

Being able to see, and/or stay with family while on the road keeps me closer to them, now that I live so far from them. I’ve been able to watch some of my nieces and nephews grow up.

In my travels, I’ve seen and done things I had never dreamed of. I’m truly blessed to have had the opportunity to experience so many amazing places and to meet so many wonderful people.

Still, none of these compares to the feeling of going home. The pace of my days, when traveling for work is typically hectic enough to keep home sickness at bay, but the night before my homeward journey is usually a restless one. I can hardly contain my excitement about going home.

Traffic, airport security procedures, flight delays, etc., can hardly dampen my spirits on my return home. I know that somehow, I’ll be home soon.

Today is one of those days. After a fruitful work trip and a couple nights with family, I’m headed back to the warm, sweet comfort of home.

I wonder if my fellow passengers are as excited as I am.

About Michael Hios

Michael Hios is a Business Technology Professional in the Raleigh, NC area with expertise in Travel Technology, Data Analysis and Management. Michael has 20+ years of Information Technology experience, specializing in system implementations and data management and analysis. He was most recently Vice President of Analytics for Yankee Leisure Group, a Massachusetts-based travel company.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

